Portrait

            Some dates

- October 8, Biennale di Venezia - Pas à pas, world premiere - ensemble Recherche
- October 24, Vilnius, Lituania - Pour Luigi, 2e2m - Pierre Roullier, conductor
- November 5, 6 , 8, Lulea, Tärendo, Stockholm, Sweden - Cantus - Norbotten ensemble, Jeanette Bjurling, soprano - Pierre-André Valade, conductor
- November 25, Annemasse, Switzerland - Pour l'image - Quatre Variations - Lemanic Modern Ensemble - Philippe Spiesser, percussion - William Blank, conductor
- December 7 and 12, Tel Aviv, Israël - Ran Baron Hall, Localized corrosion - Meitar ensemble
- December, CD release : Traits - Motus
- February 28, Konstanz, Germany - Festsaal Inselhotel Konstanz - Figures Libres - Philharmonisches Kammerorchester für Neue Musik - Franz Lang, direction
- march 5 and may 12, Donaueschingen and Freiburg Germany - Pas à pas - Ensemble Recherche

See and listen
Localized corrosion
ensemble Nikel

video

 


 

Sketch for a portrait

 

« If you were about to file him under spectral you'd be on the wrong path. Into a train of thought contradicting certain of his deeper natural motives, and the somewhat static deployment of harmonic spectres, Philippe Hurel injected the structuring factors of polyphony of serial origin, and then dynamited it all with the rhythmic pulses that come from jazz, one of his younger pursuits. Prompt to collect the fallout that followed this explosion, he recomposed the matter according to his own dynamics, keeping his distance from the beaten track and renewing his method with each continuously-reinvented consistency.

He'll tell you he likes systems: observe, rather, the warmly exuberant voice, the zany vocabulary and the sparkling looks that shine from him while he's juggling with theories, and you'll learn a lot more about the bubbling excitement from which each of his composing projects draws its vigour.

He'll sing the praises of objectivity in art: get to know him, and you'll discover the intimately humane aspect, the poetic wonder and enthusiastic generosity which temper the harrowing vertigo that one experiences when faced with infinite possibles (now there's something that tends to make you talk rather about subjectivity, that inalienable part from which music draws its unfailingly personal essence, but don't tell him that, whatever you do!) Cheekiness is the elegant mask that this reader of Goethe likes to wear.

With Philippe Hurel, a taste for systems is a dream that stimulates the exploratory vein, not some desiccated dogmatism. Systems, computer-calculations and objectivity are merely the safeguards he uses to try and channel - precisely - that speck of madness which breathes the life of the unpredictable into the most skilfully configured combinations. This is why his music speaks to us... »

 

                                                                                                                                  Sylviane Falcinelli

 

© 2007-2016 - Philippe Hurel and Gilles Pouëssel

Portrait

            Quelques dates

- 16 septembre - Automne de Varsovie - Tour à tour II - Orchestre Philharmonique de Varsovie, direction, Jacek Kaspszyk
- 5 octobre - Musica Strasbourg - Pas à pas - Ensemble Recherche
- 6 novembre Paris Radio France - Anniversaire Gilbert Amy …à mesure Court-circuit direction, Julien Leroy
- 13 novembre 2016 - Milano musica - Tombeau in memoriam GŽrard Grisey - Quartetto Array
- 10 décembre Luxembourg Philharmonie Rainy days - «Wut im Bauch» - Pas à pas - ensemble Recherche
- 20 décembre Tel Aviv Ensemble Nikel - Global corrosion - création
- 14 janvier 2017 Opéra de Paris - Loops III et Tombeau - musiciens de l'opéra
- 5 ou 6 ou 7 mai - Witten - Wittener Tage fur Neue Kammermuzik - Nouvelle œuvre pour quatuor à cordes - quatuor Arditti
- 22 mai 2017 Madrid, Espagne - Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia - …à mesure - sonido extremo, Jordi Frances, direction
- 15 juin 2017 - Tel-Aviv - Auditorium du Conservatoire Figures libres Meitar ensemble, Pierre-André Valade, direction
- 15 juin Saint Etienne - Bourse du travail Hommage ˆ Georges Perec - Cantus - EOC, direction Daniel Kawka

À voir et écouter
Localized corrosion
ensemble Nikel

video
 
  Retrouvez-moi sur Facebook


 


 puce Esquisse d'un portrait

 

« Vous apprêteriez-vous à le classer spectral que vous feriez fausse route. À une pensée qui contredisait certains ressorts de sa nature profonde, au déploiement quelque peu statique des spectres harmoniques, Philippe Hurel injecta les facteurs structurants d'une polyphonie d'origine sérielle, puis dynamita le tout avec ces pulsions rythmiques venues du jazz qu'il pratiqua dans ses jeunes années. Prompt à recueillir les retombées consécutives à la déflagration, il recomposa la matière selon une dynamique qui n'appartient qu'à lui, s'écartant des sentiers balisés et renouvelant sa manière au gré de cohérences sans cesse réinventées.

Il vous dira aimer les systèmes : observez plutôt la voix chaleureusement exubérante, le vocabulaire déjanté, le pétillement du regard qui l'animent tandis qu'il jongle avec les théories, et vous en apprendrez beaucoup plus sur l'effervescence dont chaque projet compositionnel tire sa sève.

Il se fera le chantre de l'objectivité en art : apprenez à le connaître, et vous découvrirez le versant d'intime humanité, d'émerveillement poétique, de générosité enthousiaste tempérant l'angoissant vertige face à l'infini des possibles (voilà qui inclinerait plutôt à parler de la subjectivité considérée comme cette part inaliénable dont une musique tire son essence indéfectiblement personnelle, mais ne le lui dites surtout pas !). La gouaille est le masque élégant que se donne ce grand lecteur de Goethe.

Chez lui, le goût du système est un rêve stimulant la veine exploratoire, non une dogmatique desséchante.

Les systèmes, les calculs par ordinateur, l'objectivité ne sont que les garde-fous par lesquels il tente de canaliser - précisément - ce grain de folie insufflant la vie de l'imprévisible aux combinaisons les plus savamment configurées.

C’est pourquoi sa musique nous parle... »

 

                                                                                                                                  Sylviane Falcinelli

 

 

 

 


© 2007-2017 - Philippe Hurel et Gilles Pouëssel